Switch to the new WRAL
Family

When to see Grinch and other holiday classics on TV

Posted November 23, 2022 6:00 a.m. EST
Updated November 23, 2022 9:11 a.m. EST

caption: Let the reindeer games begin!  RUDOLPH THE RED-NOSED REINDEER, the longest-running holiday special in television history, celebrates its 40th anniversary broadcast Wednesday, Dec. 1 (8:00-9:00 PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network. Since 1964, millions of families have tuned in to watch Rudolph and his friends, Hermey the Elf, Yukon Cornelius, and the Misfit Toys, save Christmas.  This classic "Animagic" special features a world-renowned musical score from Johnny Marks and the voice talent of legendary performer Burl Ives (Sam the Snowman).
Photo:  Classic Media
copyright:

From "It's a Wonderful Life" to the Grinch, we have your list of when to catch your holiday favorites on TV!

The Eastern time zone is used throughout this story.

Wednesday, Nov. 23

  • 8 p.m. - Countdown to Macy's Thanksgiving Parade (NBC)
  • 9 p.m. - A Saturday Night Live Thanksgiving Special (NBC)

Thursday, Nov. 24

  • 9 a.m. - The 96th Annual Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade (NBC)
  • Noon - The National Dog Show presented by Purina (NBC)
  • 2 p.m. - The 96th Annual Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade (Repeat) (NBC)

Friday, Nov. 25

  • 8 p.m. - How the Grinch Stole Christmas (NBC)
  • 8:30 p.m. - Trolls Holiday in Harmony (NBC)

Tuesday, Nov. 29

  • 9 p.m. - Michael Buble's Christmas in the City (NBC)

Wednesday, Nov. 30

  • 7 p.m. - WRAL Tower Lighting Special (NBC)
  • 8 p.m. - 90th Annual Christmas in Rockefeller Center (NBC)
  • 10 p.m. - Kelly Clarkson Presents: When Christmas Comes Around (NBC)

Thursday, Dec. 1

  • 8 p.m. - Dolly Parton's Mountain Magic Christmas (NBC)

Saturday, Dec. 3

  • 9:15 p.m. - Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (Freeform)
  • 10:20 p.m. - Frosty the Snowman (Freeform)

Sunday, Dec. 4

  • 5:05 p.m. - Frosty the Snowman (Freeform)
  • 5:35 p.m. - Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (Freeform)

Monday, Dec. 5

7:10 p.m. - Frosty the Snowman (Freeform)

Wednesday, Dec. 14

  • 8 p.m. - A Saturday Night Live Christmas Special (NBC)

Saturday, Dec. 17

  • Durham Holiday Parade on WRAL

Tuesday, Dec. 20

  • 8 p.m. - Illumination presents: Dr. Seuss' The Grinch (NBC)

Wednesday, Dec. 21

  • 9 p.m. - Dolly Parton's Mountain Magic Christmas (NBC)
  • 9 p.m. - Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (Freeform)

Thursday, Dec. 22

  • 7:30 p.m. - Frosty the Snowman (Freeform)
  • 8 p.m. - Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (Freeform)
  • 9 p.m. - A Saturday Night Live Christmas Special (NBC)

Friday, Dec. 23

  • 8 p.m. - How the Grinch Stole Christmas (NBC)
  • 8:30 p.m. - 5 More Sleeps 'Til Christmas (NBC)
  • 9 p.m. - Dolly Parton's Christmas of Many Colors: Circle of Love (NBC)

Saturday, Dec. 24

  • 5:45 p.m. - Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (Freeform)
  • 6:50 p.m. - Frosty the Snowman (Freeform)
  • 8 p.m. - It's a Wonderful Life (NBC)
  • 11:30 p.m. Christmas Eve Mass (Live) (NBC)

Sunday, Dec. 25

  • 10:30 a.m. - Frosty the Snowman (Freeform)
  • 11 a.m. - Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (Freeform)

Monday, Dec. 26

  • 8 p.m. - Dolly Parton's Coat of Many Colors (NBC)

Saturday, Dec. 31

  • 8 p.m. - A Toast to 2022! (NBC)

Monday, Jan. 2

  • 11 a.m. - The Rose Parade (NBC)                                                                          

                                                           

Our commenting policy has changed. If you would like to comment, please share on social media using the icons below and comment there.